Skip links and keyboard navigation

These recurrent grants are provided as a financial contribution (in lieu of rates) to meet the costs incurred by Indigenous councils in the provision of local government services including:

  • General public services
    e.g. council office, transactions, governance, leadership, advocacy, information, public halls, showgrounds, community engagement
  • Public order and safety
    e.g. night patrols, public nuisance, street lighting, public space control, litter, natural disaster relief and mitigation, lifeguards, control of declared pests/plants, fire services, animal control
  • Health
    e.g. inspection/licensing of food, vermin and vector control, refuse services, waste management, community health, immunisation, hospitals
  • Recreation and culture
    e.g. parks, playgrounds, sports fields and venues, swimming pools, libraries, public internet, galleries, museums, heritage, festivals
  • Transport and communication
    e.g. roads, footpaths, traffic control, parking, public transport, ferries, barge landings, jetties, airports, television services, internet services
  • Other economic affairs
    e.g. economic development, tourism promotion, industrial estates, residential land, tourist facilities/venues, caravan parks, camping areas, other business activities, sale yards, quarries
  • Education
    e.g. public awareness campaigns, community education
  • Essential services
    e.g. water supplies, waste water systems, gas, drainage, flood mitigation
  • Public amenities
    land development, town planning, building control/certification, public conveniences, picnic areas, environmental protection, natural resource management, environmental acquisitions, beach control, environmental licensing, recycling, erosion control, cemeteries.

The funding does not cover costs that are not directly associated with the program, for example services or support provided by other funding bodies.

Funding schedule

Loading table...

Council 2016-17
Aurukun Shire Council $1,144,614
Cherbourg Aboriginal Shire Council $1,535,124
Doomadgee Aboriginal Shire Council $1,710,005
Hope Vale Aboriginal Shire Council $1,545,835
Kowanyama Aboriginal Shire Council $1,614,833
Lockhart River Aboriginal Shire Council $1,206,790
Mapoon Aboriginal Shire Council $496,586
Mornington Shire Council $1,144,615
Napranum Aboriginal Shire Council $1,103,295
Northern Peninsula Area Regional Council $3,883,121
Palm Island Aboriginal Shire Council $2,709,292
Pormpuraaw Aboriginal Shire Council $1,281,740
Torres Strait Island Regional Council $6,027,990
Woorabinda Aboriginal Shire Council $1,589,851
Wujal Wujal Aboriginal Shire Council $1,058,093
Yarrabah Aboriginal Shire Council $2,282,216
TOTAL $30,334,000

Guidelines and forms

Further information

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Phone: 07 3452 6725